Raising 10k

Thats no easy task and I’m glad I have a few months to come up with some sort of plan.  Here are some of the ideas I have to date, I’m hoping others have some ideas too.  In case you need a refresher – here’s my plan for the year.  It includes raising $10,000 (or $5,000) for a local charity in May.

  1. In June I will be painting a mural on the side of a Nanaimo building.  I don’t know which building and I don’t know what it will be.  What if I come up with 3-5 different mural designs loosely related to the charity in question, and auction the mural to the highest business bidder in the city?  The costs would come out of my pocket, and of course I would have to find a willing canvas.  Maybe try to drum up a little publicity for it.  Estimated proceeds; $2,000-5,000?
  2. I saw a country club that offers its space to non-profits for fundraising efforts.  They provide the meals at $15/person, and up to 100 tickets can be sold for $25 each ($10 profit).  The fundraiser takes bar proceeds as well.  Maybe this could be combined with the announcement for the mural bidder?  Combining it would bring local business owners to the event and help fill seats.  But normally there is some sort of attraction related to a fundraiser – some reason for going besides the dinner.  I’ll have to give that some thought.  Estimated proceeds; $1,00o.
  3. ???

Of course I still have to figure out which charity to support.  Looking for any suggestions on that too.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sherri on February 2, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Hey Mike,

    this sounds sweet! whats the charity? why not bike somewhere and get people to pledge per km or something. I love the mural idea as well. AND I may be persuaded to help you out with that charity bike ride, hehehehe…………..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

